Nomenclature is so… yesterday. Folksonomy!

I'd love to be able to go to a site and define my own nomenclature (wikipedia says it's a system of naming things).

But wait, if I'm collecting a bunch of existing words and collecting them together and calling it something that I want to call it then that is Folksonomy. Wikipedia says folksonomies are user-generated and disorganised… but they will eventually result in the semantic web – I coudn't have said it better myself.
Do you see where I am going with this?

Yahoo 360 says you should subscribe to a bunch of feeds and read them, but the problem with this is that only 1 in 20 of the posts is actually interesting to me. All noise, very little signal.

Technorati is fabulous at finding tags and related tags in posts… but they don't exclude other tags and don't group tags for me, I can't import other people's tags and improve upon them. They have missed the social aspect of things.

We're going to build something so cool that when you see it, you'll have fun. It's user-centric, sharable, it adds value to the original post (without changing the original post).

Leave a Reply

