Keeping up with the news… social software style

Whenever I find items I want to follow, I dash into reBlogger (our product we're building) and write up a keyword and add the tags that I'm searching for. I've made one here for Microformats and tags which collects posts on 2 terms from 100+ blogs and collates only the posts that relate to the terms I'm looking for – which then feeds up to the keyword (like a category) which I have defined.

If you're reading this, you're wondering if this is just a plug for our software. It's 10% plug and 90% me getting excited about where this is all going. Read on…

I also enjoy following the various seo contests and so I created a "seo contest" keyword for that too. Now in one place I can view what people are writing about with respect to my two favourite hot topics right now.

Actually, I am fascinated by the whole wikipedia and US Government/Congress thing that is going on. Today I read that the entire congress IP address range is banned. It's hillarious! But unfortunately I can't make a keyword with sub-search terms to collate on our website… because our website is focussed on SEO and this stuff would be off-topic.

Where can I go to track a bunch of related keywords in one central location – and maybe track several of them… and build up a world view… my own view on the world. Sigh, there isn't such a place. But wait, we built reBlogger, so let's build this new free service too!

So, that's how our new free service on the web was born. Cool huh?

I realised that this ability to search and collect and display in a convenient way that suits only me, is only available on my site. It's not on yours and it's not freely available for everyone in the way that digg.com or bloglines.com is available.

built_with_reblogger2006.gif

Leave a Reply

